Ponnala out, Uttam's Leadership for TPCC

Sat 28th Feb 2015 07:16 AM
Ponnala out, Uttam's Leadership for TPCC
Ponnala out, Uttam's Leadership for TPCC

In a sudden development, Ponnala Laxmaiah, Telangana Pradesh Congress President was removed from the party position by the  All India Congress Committee,  and  the present working president and former minister N. Uttam Kumar Reddy has been appointed  as President.

According to party sources here, the  AICC president Sonia Gandhi has  signed the orders appointing Uttam Kumar  as TPCC chief. Uttam Kumar,  who represents Huzurnagar constituency in the  Legislative Assembly,  is a former fighter pilot from Indian Air Force. He had  also worked as Security chief  at Rashtrapathi Bhavan. He has been elected to the Assembly twice from Kodad and twice from Huzurnagar. 


Speculation was rife in the party's rank and file over the removal of Ponnala following the visit of  AICC General Secretary and  party in-charge Digvijay Singh in January this year. Senior leaders complained to the  AICC functionaries about the ‘failure’ of Ponnala in  the last  general elections, as well as controlling the defections from  the party to the  ruling TRS in the state. They also reportedly informed the High Command  that Ponnala failed to inspire the cadres and was unable to move critically on the TRS government on various issues. There was unhappiness among  the cadre due to  inefficient leadership, said a senior party leader.

It may be recalled that Ponnala is camping in Delhi for the past five days and making efforts to convince the High Command leaders to continue him in the past.  He could not, however, meet the Congress President Sonia Gandhi. 

Ponnala and Uttam Kumar Reddy were appointed as TPCC President and Working President, respectively, in February last year on the eve of the general elections. 

Party sources at Delhi also indicated that the present CLP Secretary and former Minister  Mallu  Bhatti Vikramarka,  a Dalit, would be appointed  as Working President of the  TPCC, in place of Uttam Kumar Reddy.